Main Image

06 July 2022



Federal Government disaster payments will roll out from tomorrow to eligible residents in 23 local government areas (LGAs) affected by the severe storms and flooding that continue to impact large areas of Metropolitan Sydney and east coast of New South Wales.

The assistance will be available in a number of local government areas including Blacktown, Fairfield, Cumberland and Penrith.

The one-off, non-means tested Australian Government Disaster Recovery Payment of $1000 per eligible adult and $400 per eligible child is available to people who live in those LGAs and who have suffered a significant loss as a result of the floods, including a severely damaged or destroyed home or a serious injury.

The Disaster Recovery Allowance (DRA) has also been made available to assist employees and sole traders who experience a loss of income as a direct result of a major disaster and is payable for a maximum of 13 weeks. DRA is taxable.

Equivalent financial assistance will also be available to eligible New Zealand citizens (‘non-protected’ Special Category Visas, subclass 444 holders) affected by the floods.

People impacted can check their eligibility for AGDRP and DRA on the Services Australia website, before lodging a claim for assistance.

The easiest way to claim is online through Online claiming is available 24x7. Claims can be submitted from 2pm Thursday.

If people need additional support to claim, they can call the Australian Government Emergency Information Line on 180 22 66 from 2 pm Thursday.